Board of Directors

a group of business people sitting at a table for a meeting

BC Financial Services Authority is overseen by a Board of Directors appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Under the provisions of the Financial Services Authority Act, the Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints the Board Chair and Vice Chair.

The Board of Directors provides operational oversight, approves BCFSA’s strategy and appoints the CEO/Chief Statutory Officer.

The Board also exercises key powers and carries out duties assigned to it under the Financial Services Authority Act, the Financial Institutions Act (“FIA”), the Credit Union Incorporation Act (“CUIA”) and Real Estate Services Act (“RESA”) related to the supervision of provincially regulated financial institutions and real estate licensees. It does not have statutory powers under the Mortgage Brokers Act, the Pension Benefits Standards Act, the Real Estate Development Marketing Act, or Strata Property Act.

The BCFSA Board of Directors also serves as the Credit Union Deposit Insurance Corporation Board of Directors with oversight of CUDIC policy and operations.

  • Dr. Stanley Hamilton


    Term of appointment: June 5, 2019 — June 30, 2025

    Dr. Hamilton is an emeritus professor at UBC’s Sauder School of Business.

    During his career at UBC Dr. Hamilton taught and conducted research in real estate valuation and investments, institutional investments, pension fund governance and the real estate brokerage industry.

  • Wilma van Norden

    Vice Chair

    Term of Appointment: June 5, 2019 – June 30, 2025

    Wilma van Norden is a Chartered Professional Accountant. Previously, Ms. van Norden was a Managing Director and Senior Supervisor for the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada.

    Her 35-year career involved working in and regulating financial institutions, including banks, trust companies, insurance companies, pension plans and credit union system entities.

  • Don Wright


    Term of Appointment: July 31, 2021 – June 30, 2024

    Don Wright served as Deputy Minister to Premier, Secretary to Cabinet, and Head of the Public Service for the Government of British Columbia. Previously, Mr. Wright was President and Chief Executive Officer for Central 1 Credit Union and President of British Columbia Institute of Technology.

    Active in his community, he is a Member of the Board of Directors for World University Services Canada. Mr. Wright has been appointed to the BCFSA Board of Directors for a term ending June 30, 2024.

  • Donnie Wing


    Term of Appointment: July 31, 2021 – June 30, 2026

    Donnie Wing is Treasurer for the Victoria Hospitals Foundation and the past chair of the S.U.C.C.E.S.S. Society. Mr. Wing is a seasoned senior executive with extensive knowledge in insurance, investments, finance, strategy, policy, information and privacy, regulatory affairs, and government relations.

    Previously, he served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Healthcare Benefit Trust and Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs for the Insurance Corporation of BC.

  • Gerry Matier


    Term of Appointment: June 5, 2019 – June 30, 2025

    Gerry Matier was the Executive Director of the Insurance Council of British Columbia for over 25 years when he retired in 2017.

    He has lengthy experience in financial regulation in British Columbia involving insurance and securities.

  • Jacqueline Kelly


    Term of Appointment: June 5, 2019 – June 30, 2024

    Jacqueline Kelly is a retired lawyer.

    Previously, she practiced corporate and commercial law with a major Vancouver law firm for over thirty years and has extensive experience in advising corporate clients, including public and private companies, credit unions and co-operatives.

  • Jo-Ann Hannah


    Term of Appointment: June 14, 2019 – June 30, 2025

    Jo-Ann Hannah worked for 25 years with Unifor, a private sector Canadian union, and retired as the Director of Pensions and Benefits in 2016.

    Upon retirement, she was appointed to a three-year term as chair of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario Employee Life and Health Trust. She is also a volunteer tutor with the Lil’wat Nation Education Program through Capilano University.

  • Joanne Hausch


    Term of Appointment: June 14, 2019 – June 30, 2024

    Joanne Hausch retired in 2017 after working since 1984 for Deloitte LLP where she was a Tax Partner, National Quality and Risk Leader for Global Investment and Innovation Incentives.

    She provided tax and business advice to a portfolio of clients including some of Canada’s largest companies. She also consulted in a variety of industries including financial institutions, pension funds, mining, forest products, and oil and gas.

  • John Thwaites


    Term of Appointment: November 1, 2019 – June 30, 2024

    John Thwaites recently retired as CEO with Remcan Projects LP, where he continues to serve as a director/advisor.

    Mr. Thwaites is also on the boards of Acuva Technologies Ltd and CRIMS LP. He is a University of British Columbia Sauder Master of Business Administration mentor and lecturer.

  • Sandra Heath


    Term of Appointment: July 31, 2021 — June 30, 2024

    Sandra Heath is a retired Human Resources Consultant. She started and wound up HTD Inc., an international training and human resources consulting firm that focused on developing organization and leadership capacity. Ms. Heath has also held senior positions in both the private and public sector. She chairs the Board of Providence Living and previously chaired the Providence Health Care Board and served on the board of the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority.

    Ms. Heath was a Council Member at RECBC which was integrated into BCFSA on August 1, 2021.

  • Yasim Amlani


    Term of Appointment: July 31, 2021 — June 30, 2026

    Yasin Amlani is a corporate and real estate lawyer by profession with over 20 years of practice in the industry. After serving as managing partner at a New Westminster law firm, Mr. Amlani moved on to establish his own law practice. He now practises corporate law part-time, while also advising as a business and legal consultant.

    Mr. Amlani was a Council Member at RECBC which was integrated into BCFSA on August 1, 2021.